How Tides Affect Club Operation

The South Sailing Basin, where the Cal Sailing Club launches its dinghies, has been silting in over the decades, and at very low tides the depth of water at the dock is too shallow to operate our rescue skiff. When that occurs, dinghies and windsurfing equipment cannot be used by members with a rating of Junior Skipper (in the case of dinghies) or Junior Plus Windsurfer (for windsurfing equipment) or below. Equipment may still be used by those with higher ratings who do not require the rescue skiff to be operational. You can also use the time to get your work credit out of the way, take your written or rigging tests, sail with a Senior or Cruising Skipper, or just sit on the bench and enjoy the scenery!

The following table may be used to help plan your sailing schedule, and avoid times when there is not enough water there at the dock to sail. The column headings are defined below the table.

When the tide level is below +1.5 ft., the rescue skiff may not be able to operate (times in yellow on the chart). Depending on conditions, the Day Leader may launch the low-tide skiff, which can operate to +0.0 ft. Below +0.0 ft. even the low-tide skiff cannot operate, and the club will close (times in red on the chart). 

The tide times used in generating this table are  estimates only . Many factors influence tide height which cannot easily be predicted (flow of rivers into the Bay, atmospheric pressure, etc.). It is the Day Leader's responsibility to evaluate conditions and determine club operating hours. Note that currently observed low tides at Richmond Inner Harbor are around 0.2 feet higher than predictions. You can apply this correction factor to the tide predictions for the Berkeley Marina to get an approximate idea of what the tides might actually be.

You can click on the Date and see the tide graph for that date.

This table is based on the official CSC thresholds of +1.5 ft. for low tide and +0.0 ft. for club closure.

Estimated CSC Schedule for tide-based closure for

January, 2021


DateOpenMid-Day Low WaterMid-Day CloseMid-Day ReopenMid-Day Normal WaterDockSunsetLow Tide
Fri Jan 1 Noon4:31 PM5:01 PM7:37 PM
-0.9
Sat Jan 2 9:00 AM4:31 PM5:01 PM8:17 PM
-0.7
Sun Jan 3 9:00 AM4:32 PM5:02 PM8:26 AM
3.1
Mon Jan 4 Noon4:33 PM5:03 PM9:32 AM
2.8
Tue Jan 5 Noon4:34 PM5:04 PM10:45 AM
2.3
Wed Jan 6 Noon4:35 PM5:05 PM11:59 AM
1.6
Thu Jan 7 Noon12:00 PM2:57 PM4:36 PM5:06 PM1:08 PM
0.9
Fri Jan 8 Noon4:37 PM5:07 PM2:11 PM
0.1
Sat Jan 9 9:00 AM12:33 PM1:47 PM1:47 PM1:47 PM1:47 PM5:08 PM3:09 PM
-0.6
Sun Jan 10 9:00 AM1:13 PM2:13 PM2:13 PM2:13 PM2:13 PM5:09 PM4:01 PM
-1.2
Mon Jan 11 Noon1:55 PM2:50 PM2:50 PM2:50 PM2:50 PM5:10 PM4:50 PM
-1.5
Tue Jan 12 Noon2:40 PM3:34 PM3:34 PM3:34 PM3:34 PM5:11 PM5:37 PM
-1.6
Wed Jan 13 Noon3:26 PM4:21 PM4:21 PM4:21 PM4:21 PM5:12 PM6:21 PM
-1.5
Thu Jan 14 Noon4:12 PM4:43 PM4:43 PM5:13 PM7:03 PM
-1.3
Fri Jan 15 Noon4:44 PM5:14 PM7:43 PM
-0.8
Sat Jan 16 9:00 AM4:45 PM5:15 PM8:22 PM
-0.3
Sun Jan 17 9:00 AM4:46 PM5:16 PM8:43 AM
2.7
Mon Jan 18 Noon4:47 PM5:17 PM9:45 AM
2.6
Tue Jan 19 Noon4:48 PM5:18 PM10:52 AM
2.3
Wed Jan 20 Noon4:49 PM5:19 PM12:00 PM
2.0
Thu Jan 21 Noon4:50 PM5:20 PM1:02 PM
1.6
Fri Jan 22 Noon12:33 PM3:38 PM4:51 PM5:21 PM1:58 PM
1.1
Sat Jan 23 9:00 AM12:45 PM4:52 PM4:52 PM5:22 PM2:46 PM
0.6
Sun Jan 24 9:00 AM1:07 PM4:53 PM4:53 PM5:23 PM3:29 PM
0.1
Mon Jan 25 Noon1:34 PM3:09 PM3:09 PM3:09 PM3:09 PM5:25 PM4:09 PM
-0.3
Tue Jan 26 Noon2:03 PM3:20 PM3:20 PM3:20 PM3:20 PM5:26 PM4:47 PM
-0.7
Wed Jan 27 Noon2:35 PM3:43 PM3:43 PM3:43 PM3:43 PM5:27 PM5:23 PM
-0.9
Thu Jan 28 Noon3:09 PM4:13 PM4:13 PM4:13 PM4:13 PM5:28 PM5:59 PM
-1.1
Fri Jan 29 Noon3:46 PM4:50 PM4:50 PM4:50 PM4:50 PM5:29 PM6:35 PM
-1.1
Sat Jan 30 9:00 AM4:29 PM5:00 PM5:00 PM5:30 PM7:12 PM
-0.9
Sun Jan 31 9:00 AM5:01 PM5:31 PM7:50 PM
-0.5

CSC Open and Close Times and Tides version 3.5.0