How Tides Affect Club Operation

The South Sailing Basin, where the Cal Sailing Club launches its dinghies, has been silting in over the decades, and at very low tides the depth of water at the dock is too shallow to operate our rescue skiff. When that occurs, dinghies and windsurfing equipment cannot be used by members with a rating of Junior Skipper (in the case of dinghies) or Junior Plus Windsurfer (for windsurfing equipment) or below. Equipment may still be used by those with higher ratings who do not require the rescue skiff to be operational. You can also use the time to get your work credit out of the way, take your written or rigging tests, sail with a Senior or Cruising Skipper, or just sit on the bench and enjoy the scenery!

The following table may be used to help plan your sailing schedule, and avoid times when there is not enough water there at the dock to sail. The column headings are defined below the table.

When the tide level is below +1.5 ft., the rescue skiff may not be able to operate (times in yellow on the chart). Depending on conditions, the Day Leader may launch the low-tide skiff, which can operate to +0.0 ft. Below +0.0 ft. even the low-tide skiff cannot operate, and the club will close (times in red on the chart). 

The tide times used in generating this table are  estimates only . Many factors influence tide height which cannot easily be predicted (flow of rivers into the Bay, atmospheric pressure, etc.). It is the Day Leader's responsibility to evaluate conditions and determine club operating hours. Note that currently observed low tides at Richmond Inner Harbor are around 0.1 feet higher than predictions. You can apply this correction factor to the tide predictions for the Berkeley Marina to get an approximate idea of what the tides might actually be.

You can click on the Date and see the tide graph for that date.

This table is based on the official CSC thresholds of +1.5 ft. for low tide and +0.0 ft. for club closure.

Estimated CSC Schedule for tide-based closure for

September, 2021

DateOpenMid-Day Low WaterMid-Day CloseMid-Day ReopenMid-Day Normal WaterDockSunsetLow Tide
Wed Sep 1 Noon7:08 PM7:38 PM1:59 PM
3.5
Thu Sep 2 Noon7:06 PM7:36 PM3:03 PM
3.4
Fri Sep 3 Noon7:05 PM7:35 PM3:57 PM
3.1
Sat Sep 4 9:00 AM7:03 PM7:33 PM4:44 PM
2.8
Sun Sep 5 9:00 AM7:02 PM7:32 PM5:28 PM
2.4
Mon Sep 6 Noon7:00 PM7:30 PM6:11 PM
1.9
Tue Sep 7 Noon6:59 PM7:29 PM6:55 PM
1.5
Wed Sep 8 Noon6:36 PM6:57 PM6:57 PM7:27 PM7:18 AM
0.1
Thu Sep 9 Noon6:56 PM7:26 PM7:55 AM
0.6
Fri Sep 10 Noon6:54 PM7:24 PM9:23 PM
0.5
Sat Sep 11 9:00 AM6:53 PM7:23 PM9:15 AM
1.9
Sun Sep 12 9:00 AM6:51 PM7:21 PM10:02 AM
2.5
Mon Sep 13 Noon6:49 PM7:19 PM11:01 AM
3.0
Tue Sep 14 Noon6:48 PM7:18 PM12:13 PM
3.4
Wed Sep 15 Noon6:46 PM7:16 PM1:35 PM
3.4
Thu Sep 16 Noon6:45 PM7:15 PM2:54 PM
3.1
Fri Sep 17 Noon6:43 PM7:13 PM3:59 PM
2.7
Sat Sep 18 9:00 AM6:42 PM7:12 PM4:54 PM
2.2
Sun Sep 19 9:00 AM6:40 PM7:10 PM5:41 PM
1.8
Mon Sep 20 Noon5:50 PM6:38 PM6:38 PM7:08 PM6:24 PM
1.4
Tue Sep 21 Noon5:59 PM6:37 PM6:37 PM7:07 PM7:04 PM
1.1
Wed Sep 22 Noon6:24 PM6:35 PM6:35 PM7:05 PM7:14 AM
0.9
Thu Sep 23 Noon6:34 PM7:04 PM8:22 PM
0.9
Fri Sep 24 Noon6:32 PM7:02 PM9:03 PM
0.9
Sat Sep 25 9:00 AM6:31 PM7:01 PM8:48 AM
2.5
Sun Sep 26 9:00 AM6:29 PM6:59 PM9:25 AM
3.0
Mon Sep 27 Noon6:28 PM6:58 PM10:11 AM
3.4
Tue Sep 28 Noon6:26 PM6:56 PM11:11 AM
3.6
Wed Sep 29 Noon6:24 PM6:54 PM12:27 PM
3.7
Thu Sep 30 Noon6:23 PM6:53 PM1:45 PM
3.5

CSC Open and Close Times and Tides version 4.6.1